Third-party patch management for Windows, without a patch admin.
Patch management is keeping the operating system and the installed applications current on every machine, without someone chasing each one. GuardifAI does that for Windows PCs, laptops and servers: it applies Windows updates and updates apps through winget, never restarts a machine on its own, and — the part most patch tools skip — tells you why a machine is not current when it is not. It is built for fleets that have no dedicated patch admin, which is most fleets under a few hundred machines.
No card. Windows PCs and servers.
How it works here
The routine runs in the background on every enrolled machine: Windows Update through the Windows Update Agent, and third-party applications through winget — browsers, PDF readers, the everyday software that is usually further behind than Windows itself. Updates are applied as they are found; there is no maintenance window to define and no change request to file.
Automation is opt-in per account, and each device can override the account setting — on, off, or follow the account. The server nobody is allowed to touch stays out of it while the rest of the fleet keeps itself current, and that decision is made once rather than machine by machine, every month.
Nothing disruptive happens without a person. A restart is never automatic: GuardifAI shows a notification on the machine and whoever is at the keyboard chooses to restart now, with a 60-second countdown, or in three hours. That is a deliberate design decision, not a missing feature — an update that reboots a machine mid-shift costs more than the update was worth.
Why a machine is behind — with the evidence
It has not been on
A laptop that has been offline for nine days is not a patching failure. The machine shows as behind, with how long it has been out of contact, so the fix is “find the laptop”, not “re-run the job”.
It has no room
Disk health is monitored on every device. A machine with no space to stage an update reports that as the reason, instead of just failing quietly and retrying forever.
The update itself failed
When an update does not apply, that is what the machine reports — one alert, deduplicated, marked resolved on its own when the next attempt succeeds. You are not told eleven times about the same machine.
Someone keeps deferring
A machine waiting on a restart the user keeps postponing looks exactly like a machine that failed to patch, unless the tool distinguishes them. This one does.
This is the argument for not treating patching as a standalone tool: the patch state and the health of the device are the same question about the same machine, and the second one usually explains the first.
How it compares — and where each one wins
The honest version. Every cell below comes from the vendor’s own pricing page, read on 21 September 2026, and where a vendor does not publish a number, that is what the cell says.
| Dimension | GuardifAI | Action1 | NinjaOne | Automox |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free tier | GuardifAIFree — monitoring and alerts on every device, no card. Automations run on paid plans. | Action1First 200 endpoints free, in the vendor’s words “No feature limitations. Not a trial.” | NinjaOneTrial only — 14 days. | AutomoxTrial only. |
| Published price | GuardifAIPer device, published on the pricing page. | Action1None. Past 200 endpoints the page is a quote form. | NinjaOneDoes not publish full pricing, by stated choice about partner margin. Cites “as low as $1.50 USD per month at 10,000 endpoints, increasing to $3.75 USD at 50 or fewer endpoints”. | Automox“Patch OS” at $1 per endpoint/month with annual commitment; the Automate plans are custom pricing. |
| Third-party app patching | GuardifAIYes, through winget — coverage is whatever the winget catalogue carries. | Action1The free tier is not a reduced edition: “No feature limitations.” | NinjaOneNot stated on the pricing page. | AutomoxNot in Patch OS. It starts at Automate Essentials, which advertises “630+ Third-Party Patching Titles”. |
| Operating systems | GuardifAIWindows only — PCs, laptops and servers. | Action1Not stated on the pricing page. | NinjaOneNot stated on the pricing page. | AutomoxPatch OS covers Windows, macOS and Linux. |
| Where it wins | GuardifAIThe machine’s health explains its patch state, and the restart always asks first. | Action1Under 200 endpoints, nothing here competes: free, permanently, with no features held back. | NinjaOneVolume. The published rate falls to $1.50 per endpoint per month at 10,000 endpoints. | AutomoxCross-platform at a published price: one dollar per endpoint per month covers Windows, macOS and Linux. |
Sources, read 21 September 2026: action1.com/pricing, ninjaone.com/pricing, automox.com/pricing. Prices change — where a vendor publishes no number, the cell says so rather than guessing one.
What GuardifAI does not do
Scope is a feature. If any of these is what you need, one of the tools above is the better answer and this page would rather say so than waste your evaluation.
A long-tail third-party catalogue
Third-party updates go through winget. If the application you care about is not in that catalogue, GuardifAI does not patch it, and no amount of configuration changes that. Vendors who maintain their own packaging catalogue cover software winget does not.
Drivers and firmware by OEM
No vendor-specific driver or BIOS pipeline. If your fleet needs Dell or Lenovo firmware pushed on a schedule, that is a different tool.
Its own CVE-to-package mapping
GuardifAI does not maintain a vulnerability database or map CVEs to the packages it installs. It reports what is installed and what is behind, not a CVE posture.
Detection parity with a vulnerability scanner
This is not Tenable or Qualys and does not try to be. Those products exist to find what is exposed across an estate; this one exists to keep machines current and healthy.
Anything that is not Windows
No Mac, no Linux, no mobile — not on the same screen, not on another one. A mixed fleet needs a second tool, and Automox publishes a price for exactly that.
Common questions
Does GuardifAI patch third-party applications, or only Windows?
Both. Windows updates go through the Windows Update Agent and applications are updated through winget. The honest limit is the winget catalogue: software that is not packaged there is not patched.
Will it restart machines during working hours?
Not on its own — ever. When a restart is required, the machine shows a notification and the person decides: now, with a 60-second countdown, or in three hours. There is no setting that makes the reboot automatic.
Why is a machine still showing as behind after patching ran?
Usually because the machine itself is the obstacle, and that is what GuardifAI reports: it has been offline for days, the disk has no room to stage the update, the update failed, or somebody keeps postponing the restart. The reason is attached to the machine instead of leaving you with a compliance percentage and no explanation.
Can I keep one machine out of the automation?
Yes. Automation is opt-in at the account level and every device can override it — on, off, or follow the account. A production server that must not be touched is excluded without turning anything off for the rest of the fleet.
Is this a vulnerability scanner?
No. GuardifAI reports what is installed and what is out of date. It does not maintain a CVE database or claim detection parity with a dedicated scanner.
We have Macs. Can this cover them?
No. GuardifAI is Windows only — PCs, laptops and servers. For a mixed fleet, Automox publishes $1 per endpoint per month for a plan covering Windows, macOS and Linux (their pricing page, 21 September 2026).
Patching that explains itself.
Free, no card. Enough to see whether the reasons it gives you are the ones you are missing today.